

Tuesday, 17 May 2022

Trafford Town Hall Talbot Road Stretford M32 0TH

Dear Councillor,

Your attendance is requested at the **ANNUAL MEETING** of the Council of the Borough of Trafford on **WEDNESDAY**, **25 MAY 2022**, at **6.00 P.M.** in the **COUNCIL CHAMBER**, **TRAFFORD TOWN HALL**, **TALBOT ROAD**, **STRETFORD**, for the transaction of the business set out below:

Pages

1. Mayor and Chair of Council

To elect the Mayor who will be Chair of Council for the ensuing year and receive notification of the appointment of the Mayoress.

2. Appointment of Deputy Mayor and Vice Chair of Council

To appoint the Deputy Mayor who will be Vice-Chair of Council for the ensuing year and receive notification of the appointment of the Consort.

3. Vote of Thanks

A vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

4. Minutes

To approve as a correct record the Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 23 March 2022 for signature by the Mayor as Chair of the Council.

1 - 14

5. Results of Elections of Councillors

To receive a report of the Returning Officer on the results of the Poll held on 5 May 2022 for the respective wards of the Borough.

15 - 16

6. Leader of the Council and Executive Arrangements

To elect the Leader of the Council and note that the Leader will appoint the membership of the Executive Cabinet and a Deputy Leader. The Council is also asked to note the Shadow Executive arrangements.

17 - 22

7. Council Committees

To receive a report on the Committees of the Council, their composition, membership and terms of reference for the 2022/23 Municipal Year.

23 - 52

8. Appointments to Outside and Independent Bodies

To receive a report on Council appointments to outside and independent bodies for the 2022/23 Municipal Year.

To Follow

9. Timetable of Council and Committee Meetings

To approve a timetable of meetings for the 2022/23 Municipal Year.

53 - 56

10. Delegated Decisions and Urgent Action for Committees

To approve the following arrangements for dealing with delegated decisions and urgent action:

(a) Delegated Decisions

That where, under the approved scheme of delegation, decisions may be taken by Officers in consultation with non-Executive Members then in the absence of any specific arrangements having been made, the Officer shall consult the appropriate Chair, Vice-Chair and Opposition Spokesperson.

(b) Urgent Action

That, in situations which require emergency action the Chief Executive or the appropriate Officer, in consultation with the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Committee concerned and the Opposition Spokesperson where appropriate (or their respective nominees), be authorised to deal from this date until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2023, with any matters of urgency or any other matter that cannot conveniently be deferred to the next ordinary meeting of the Committee, subject to later report for information, to the Committee in question.

11. Delegated Functions and Amendments to the Constitution

To receive a report of the Monitoring Officer and Director of Legal and Governance on the delegation of Council and Executive functions and proposed amendments to the Council's Constitution.

To Follow

12. Report on Special Urgency Decisions

To consider a report of the Director of Legal and Governance.

57 - 58

13. Proposed changes to the Council's Senior Leadership Arrangements as a consequence of the establishment of the Integrated Health and Care System following the passing of the Health and Care Act 2022

To consider a report of the Executive Member for Finance and Governance following the recommendations of the Employment Committee held on 16 May 2022.

59 - 72

Yours sincerely.

SARA TODD

Chief Executive

Membership of the Council

Councillors L. Walsh (Mayor), C. Boyes (Deputy Mayor), D. Acton, S. Adshead,

A. Akinola, J.M. Axford, J. Bennett, Miss L. Blackburn, J. E. Brophy, B. Brotherton,

D. Bunting, D. Butt, Dr. S. Carr, G. Carter, K.G. Carter, D.N. Chalkin, G. Coggins,

L. Dagnall, R. Duncan, S. G. Ennis, M. Freeman, W. Frass, S.J. Gilbert, J. Harding,

B. Hartley, W. Hassan, S. J. Haughey, J. Holden, C. Hynes, D. Jarman, F. Hornby,

D. Jerrome, J. Lloyd, S. Maitland, M. Minnis, W. Jones, M. Mirza, J. Leicester,

D. Morgan, P. Myers, A. New, J.D. Newgrosh, D.C. O'Sullivan, E. Patel, K. Procter,

T. Ross, J. Slater, T. O'Brien, S. Taylor, S. Thomas, R. Thompson, M.J. Welton,

S. Procter, A. Western, D. Western, M.P. Whetton, G. Whitham, A.M. Whyte,

A.J. Williams, B.G. Winstanley, J.A. Wright, Mrs. P. Young and S. Zhi.

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact:

lan Cockill, Governance Officer

Tel: 0161 912 1387

Email: ian.cockill@trafford.gov.uk

This Summons was issued on **Tuesday, 17 May 2022** by the Governance Services Section, Trafford Council, Trafford Town Hall, Talbot Road, Stretford M32 0TH